Teeing Off at Fenway for TouroCDM’s Dental Clinical Center

Leaders in dentistry reflect on a ‘dream that became a reality’

August 16, 2017

Dr. Jay Goldsmith, Founding Dean of TouroCDM, was recognized with an award for his accomplishments as a leader who has “shaped the future of this great institution,” said Dr. Ronnie Myers, who presented him with the award. 

Dr. Goldsmith said TouroCDM was a “startup,” like many tech and internet enterprises. “That’s really what we are, and it’s a wonderful thing,” he said, adding, “We celebrate our students more than anything else.”

Dr.’s Jill and Evan Chafitz, Board of Overseers Founding Members, and Dr. Donald and Keikilani Brockley, Title Sponsor and Chair, received the “Fenway Inaugural Golf Championship Dental Leadership Award” in recognition of their outstanding service to dentistry, the community and Touro College of Dental Medicine. 

Rabbi Moshe Krupka, Executive Vice President of Touro College and University System, reflected on the first year of the dental school −which opened in July 2016 with a mission to provide a superior education to dentists-in-training and quality oral healthcare to an often underserved community− thanked everyone for their support, and “for believing in our dream.”

The evening’s highlights also included musical performances by TouroCDM’s Chromatic Scalers, photo opportunities with New York Giants players Will Tye and Tavares King, and a silent auction featuring sports memorabilia, paintings, and comic book collectibles.