Smigel Scholarship Recipients Include Seven Touro College of Dental Medicine (TCDM) Alumni

The Scholarship Recognizes Outstanding Newly Graduated Dentists With Opportunity to Continue Their Education at the American Society for Dental Aesthetics (ASDA) Conference

October 19, 2022
Lineup of six of the TCDM alumni Smigel Scholarship recipients with Dr. Marvin Fier in the center.
Seven TCDM Alumni received the prestigious Smigel Scholarship to attend the ASDA annual conference. Left to right, Dr. Madeline (Maddy) Maas  (’21), Dr. Aman Kumar  (‘20), Dr. Troy Neureuter  (’21), Dr. Marvin Fier, TCDM Clinical Associate Professor and Executive Vice President of ASDA, Dr. Margaret (Maggie) Eason  (’21), Dr. Si Yeon Kim  (‘21), Dr. Benjamin Yee  (’21).

Seven TCDM Alumni received the prestigious Smigel Scholarship to attend the American Society for Dental Aesthetics (ASDA) annual conference in Palm Springs, CA, from October 19-22, 2022.

The scholarship supports new dentists interested in aesthetic dentistry with funding to attend American Society for Dental Aesthetics (ASDA) meetings. The scholarship was established to mentor dentists in the art and science of aesthetic dentistry and its newest developments. Young dentists are encouraged to become involved in aesthetics, modern restorative techniques, and implant dentistry and actively participate in ASDA annual meetings. The conference exposes attendees to world-class lectures on multiple topics every morning and hands-on workshops in the afternoons. The evening events afford the opportunity to personally get to know leading aesthetic dentists and other thought leaders. Camaraderie is a large part of ASDA conferences. Meals together each day give time to share and to see new products.

TCDM alumni that received the prestigious ASDA scholarship:

  1. Dr. Margaret (Maggie) Eason (’21)
  2. Dr. Si Yeon Kim (‘21)
  3. Dr. Aman Kumar (‘20)
  4. Dr. Madeline (Maddy) Maas (’21)
  5. Dr. Zaid Nesheiwat (‘22)
  6. Dr. Troy Neureuter (’21)
  7. Dr. Benjamin Yee (’21)

Named the Smigel Scholarship, it is in memory of Dr. Irwin Smigel, the founder and late president of ASDA. Internationally acknowledged as the "Father of Aesthetic Dentistry," Dr. Smigel earned this celebratory moniker from his peers for his work in establishing and contributing to the field of cosmetic dentistry. His leadership began in 1970 when he created the bonding technique. He was at the forefront of numerous significant developments in cosmetic dentistry, including porcelain veneers, laminates, teeth whitening, and enhancing patients' facial structure through dental techniques.

The late Dr. Smigel, appointed Dr. Marvin A. Fier an associate professor at TCDM, as Executive Vice President of ASDA in the early 90s. Dr. Fier continues to serve in this capacity today.

The prestigious “Smigel Scholar” certificate is given to all recently graduated doctors attending the conference on the Smigel Scholarship in recognition of their desire and effort to continue their education through the scholarship. Dentists must be recommended by an ASDA member in order to be considered for the scholarship, and then must apply and be accepted by ASDA Executive Board. The initiative is limited in number and is a great honor that so many TCDM Alumni received the Smigel Scholarship.

It’s so gratifying to see these young alumni at the ASDA convention starting their careers with a learning mindset.” Dr. Marvin Fier.