Student Life

Our goal is to help you flourish personally, professionally, and academically.

Touro College of Dental Medicine (TCDM) offers a wide range of student support services for academic and wellness counseling, as well as career advisement.

Student events, activities, and organizations are an important part of campus life. Students are encouraged to be actively involved outside of the classroom to help shape and enhance the TCDM experience.

Support Services

Academic Counseling

Students are advised to first consult with their course director who will direct them to available academic resources. Course faculty and other administrators are available to meet with students to discuss specific course-related issues. If the help you seek is broader than a single course, arrangements for counseling will be coordinated through the Director of Student Affairs in consultation with the Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs. 

Contact:

Office of Student Affairs
Karen Longo, MPH
Director of Student Affairs
19 Skyline Drive, 4th floor
Hawthorne, NY 10532
(914) 594-2634
karen.longo@touro.edu

Academic Support

Through NYMC campus resources, we offer academic support to those having difficulty learning or studying. Programs are designed to help students study more effectively and become more self-sufficient and proactive in their learning. These include peer learning partners, workshops and one-on-one academic support.

Student Mental Health and Wellness Services

The Office of Student Mental Health & Wellness (SMHW) offers services available to all students. The department has formed a partnership with Teladoc and Health Advocate to provide free, confidential, virtual mental health services, both long term and during emergent situations, to all students. Teladoc’s Mental Health services offer students the opportunity to work with a clinician of their choice. Students will have access to psychiatrists, psychologists and licensed clinical social workers by appointment, seven days a week. Health Advocate offers professional telephone evaluation and in-the-moment support, where help is available 24/7. Other support services through Health Advocate include help with childcare, eldercare, relocation, financial and legal problems, life transitions, substance abuse and more. 

If you need immediate or after hours help, please call (855) 384-1800 or visit members.healthadvocate.com to access this benefit. When asked for your organization, enter 'Student Virtual Care Program'. Please note in case of emergency call 911 or go to your nearest emergency room. 

In addition to mental health services, workshops and lifestyle modification techniques are offered to enhance overall physical, mental, and emotional health.

Career Advisement

TCDM conducts special career counseling programs for students to help them chart their future careers as residents, postgraduate students, practitioners, researchers, and/or teachers.

These programs are coordinated with the TCDM Director of Student Affairs, the NYMC Office of Academic Affairs, the Director of Admissions, student representatives, and affiliated dental practitioners.

Individual students are encouraged to meet with faculty members who will serve as mentors to students interested in specific specialties, residencies and practice opportunities. NYMC partners with TCDM to showcase opportunities for graduates in public service and the U.S. Military. In the senior year faculty advisors are available for individual career planning sessions on an appointment basis.

Student Organizations

The Student Government Association (SGA) is the official organization representing the Touro College of Dental Medicine's student body. The SGA Council consists of the students elected Class Officers of each class, SGA Committee Chairs, along with an Executive SGA President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and PR Chair. The members of the SGA Council meet at least six times per academic year to present updates on each class and committee and discuss solutions to student-related issues. The SGA also plans activities to help ease the stress of classes, distributes funding to student groups, and advocates for the student body to the academic leaders and administration. Current students may visit TCDM's website, which includes forms for event and budget proposals, on Canvas under the Student Government tab.

Questions about Student Government may be directed to dental.studentgovernment@touro.edu, the anonymous SGA feedback on Canvas, or any current officer.

Student Government Association (SGA) 2023-2024

Executive Board

President:  Rachel Sebastian, rsebasti2@student.touro.edu

Vice President:  Jeremy Lichter, jlichter2@student.touro.edu

Secretary:  Stephanie Rachaf, srachaf@student.touro.edu

Treasurer: Alexander Constantine, aconstan3@student.touro.edu

Public Relations: Anish Cheriyan, acheriya@student.touro.edu

Class of 2024

President: Daniel Brock, dbrock@student.touro.edu

Vice President: Mullar Zakher, mzakher2@student.touro.edu

Secretary: Talia Levie, tlevie@student.touro.edu

Treasurer: Haley Shapiro, hshapiro3@student.touro.edu

Class of 2025

President: Jordan Sahawneh, jsahawne@student.touro.edu

Vice President: Samantha Golod, sgolod@student.touro.edu

Secretary: Dean Guevarra, dguevarr@student.touro.edu

Treasurer: Zachary Mann, zmann@student.touro.edu

Class of 2026

President: Veean Chen, vchen6@student.touro.edu

Vice President: Emily Angelis, eangelis2@student.touro.edu

Secretary: Esther Chu, echu5@student.touro.edu

Treasurer: Moon Lee, mlee32@student.touro.edu

Class of 2027

President: Michelle Weingarten, mweingar5@student.touro.edu

Vice President: Lena Braendle, lbraendl@student.touro.edu

Secretary: Politimi Papadoniou, ppapadon@student.touro.edu

Treasurer: Ramziya Fahradova, rfahrado@student.touro.edu

Committee Chairs

Community Service: Eric Davis, edavis15@student.touro.edu

Formal: Stephanie Rachaf, srachaf@student.touro.edu

Professional Development: Dean Guevarra, dguevarr@student.touro.edu 

Yearbook: Polina Gomer, pgomer@student.touro.edu

 

Clubs & Organizations

TCDM students have the opportunity to participate in over 20 student-run clubs and organizations, as well as the many student organizations available on the New York Medical College campus.

National Student Organizations

Academy of General Dentistry (AGD): www.agd.org
Alpha Omega International Dental Fraternity: www.ao.org
American Dental Education Association (ADEA): www.adea.org 
American Student Dental Association (ASDA): www.asdanet.org
Chinese Dental Student Association (CADA): www.cadany.org 
Hispanic Dental Association (HDA): www.hdassoc.org
Korean American Dental Association (KADA): www.kadausa.com 
Student Professionalism and Ethics Association (SPEA): www.speadental.org
The American Association for Women Dentists (AAWD): www.aawd.org

TCDM Student Organizations

The Chromatic Scalers
The Tourodont
Practice Management Dental Club
Periodontics Society
Pediatrics Club
Oral Maxillofacial Dental Research Community (DORS)
OMFS and Anesthesia Society
Orthodontics Club
Fishing Club

Faculty-Student Organizations

Omicron Kappa Upsilon (OKU)

Housing

TCDM students have the benefit of utilizing the resources of the Office of Student & Residential Life on the NYMC campus. A limited number of On-Campus housing is available for TCDM students. The links provided below are designed to assist you in finding housing and provide the necessary information to ensure that you are successful in your search.